About
UJ Arts & Culture
UJ Arts & Culture, a division of the Faculty of Art, Design & Architecture (FADA) produces and presents world-class student and professional arts programmes aligned to the UJ vision of an international university of choice, anchored in Africa, dynamically shaping the future. A robust range of arts platforms are offered on all four UJ campuses for students, staff, alumni and the general public to experience and engage with emerging and established Pan-African and international artists drawn from the full spectrum of the arts.
In addition to UJ Arts & Culture, FADA offers programmes in eight creative disciplines in art, design and architecture, as well as being home to the NRF SARChI Chair in South African Art and Visual Culture, and the Visual Identities in Art & Design Research Centre.
Student campus programmes
Cultural and creative activities across a range of disciplines offer broad student participation in the arts across all four UJ campuses. The programmes are free for all UJ staff and students. Contact the following Arts & Culture offices for programme details of the relevant campuses:
Soweto :: 011 559 5678
Doornfontein :: 011 559 6959
Bunting Road :: 011 559 1309
Kingsway :: 011 559 4674
Team
All Staff
Administrative Staff
Full Time Staff
Part Time Staff
Prof Frederico Freschi
Executive Dean
email@uj.ac.za
011 500 3929
Pieter Jacobs
Head: Arts & Culture
pjacobs@uj.ac.za
011 559 4674
Annali Dempsey
Curator: UJ Art Gallery
aedempsey@uj.ac.za
011 559 2099
Jeanine Paulsen​
Manager Finance & Administrator
jeaninep@uj.ac.za
0115592269
Renette Bouwer
Senior Choir Master
renetteb@uj.ac.za
011 559 2435
Jade Bowers
Production Liaison: UJ Arts & Culture
jadeb@uj.ac.za
011 559 4674
Alby Michaels
Performing Arts Officer: Director and Dramaturge in Residence
albyvd@uj.ac.za
011 559 3531
Neo Motswagae
Arts & Culture Officer: Soweto Campus
neom@uj.ac.za
011 559 5678
Lakin Morgan-Baatjies
Production Co-ordinator and Publicist
lakinmb@uj.ac.za
011 559 2690
Charne Dangor
PA to the HOD / Front of House Manager
artsadmin@uj.ac.za
011 559 3058
Fumani Mabogoane
Production and Performing Arts Assistant
performingarts@uj.ac.za
011 559 2295
Titus Rakgoathe
Gallery Assistant
titusr@uj.ac.za
011 559 2256
Onkgopotse Nene
Senoir Technician & Venue Manager
technical@uj.ac.za
011 559 2295
Thandeka Bukula
Marketing Assistant: UJ Arts & Culture
artsmarketing@uj.ac.za
011 559 2295
Naledi Tsomele
Student Assistant: Front Desk
ujarts@uj.ac.za
011 559 4674
Sizwe Mondlane
Choir Administrator
choir@uj.ac.za
011 559 3705
Tlamelo Sekao
Student Assistant: Front Desk
ujarts@uj.ac.za
011 559 4674
Mzwandile Maphumulo-KaMhlaba
Arts & Culture Officer: Doornfontein Campus
mzwandilem@uj.ac.za
011 559 6959
Rika Nortjé
UJ Art Gallery
gallery@uj.ac.za
011 559 3114